

Michael W. Stewart, MD, Named IJCAHPO President

St. Paul, MN – The International Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (IJCAHPO®) announced that Michael W. Stewart, MD, was elected as IJCAHPO's President for 2023–2025. Dr. Stewart is IJCAHPO's 27th President of the 54-year-old organization. As IJCAHPO's leader, Dr. Stewart will focus on achieving its mission: "To promote global eye health and prevent blindness



through training program accreditation, education, and the certification of Allied Ophthalmic Personnel." He received his appointment in November at IJCAHPO's 51st Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California.

"I am honored to step into IJCAHPO's leadership as President to support our Certified Ophthalmic Assistants, Technicians, and Medical Technologists. We have a strong and highly engaged Board of Directors and certified membership who continue to focus on IJCAHPO's objectives to foster growth and development that supports our eye care team. We have two main goals: strengthening the professional development of our technicians throughout their careers and enhancing their knowledge, skills, and productivity to support our patients and ophthalmologists. I look forward to continuing this work and advancing our initiatives over my term," said Stewart. Dr. Stewart joined IJCAHPO in 2016 and served as Secretary of Education, Treasurer, and President-Elect before becoming President.

Dr. Michael W. Stewart is Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida. He graduated with honors in chemistry from Harvard College in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and from the McGill University Faculty of Medicine in Montreal, Quebec. He completed an internship in internal medicine at Jackson Memorial Hospital in Miami, Florida, and an ophthalmology residency at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. Dr. Stewart held vitreoretinal fellowships at Touro Infirmary in New Orleans, Louisiana, and at the University of California, Davis, after which he became a partner at Retina Associates in Jacksonville. Stewart joined the Mayo Clinic in 1999 and became Professor of Ophthalmology in 2014.

Dr. Stewart has been recognized with the Florida Society of Ophthalmology President's Award (2020, 2021), the American Society of Retina Specialists Honor Award (2016), America's Best Physicians (2016), America's Top Ophthalmologists (2013), the Hiram Hunn Award from Harvard University School and Scholarships Committee, and the American Academy of Ophthalmology Honor Award (2010). His research interests include diabetic retinopathy, macular degeneration, retinal vein occlusions, and infectious retinitis, with particular emphasis on retinal pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, and the mathematical modeling of ocular diseases and treatments. His recent professional memberships include the Icelandic Research Fund, Mayo Clinic Enterprise Ophthalmology Council (Mayo Group Practices), American Society of Retina Specialists, and American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons.

James Tsai, MD, MBA, IJCAHPO's Immediate Past President and President of New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai stated, "I am pleased to turn over IJCAHPO's mission and program under the very capable leadership of Dr. Stewart. In addition, I am very appreciative of our Board of Directors and volunteers for their great commitment and passionate efforts. The time and energy that they have given is incredibly generous and allows us to continue to grow as a successful organization."

About IJCAHPO®

The International Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology—IJCAHPO® (formerly the Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology—JCAHPO®), was established as a not-for-profit organization in 1969 to offer certification and continuing education opportunities to ophthalmic allied health personnel. Since then, more than 34,000 people in the U.S., Canada, and around the world have earned IJCAHPO® Certification. For more information, visit www.jcahpo.org.

###